Author: C. L. Parker

GETTING ROUGH by C. L. Parker

GETTING ROUGH by C. L. Parker
Getting Rough
by C. L. Parker

Series: Monkey Business Trio
Published by Bantam Genres: Contemporary
Source: Publisher

ReviewedbyVanessa

Shaw Matthews and Cassidy Whalen have gone against each other both professionally and privately.  However, when it appears that Cassidy has the next big thing in the bag, she does a runner and Shaw wins the sports star by default.  Not willing to garner his win as a sympathy bid, Shaw chases after Cassidy to her small home town and finds that to win the challenge fairly he needs to give more than he wanted to. Of course, Cassidy soon discovers that what she left behind years ago may just be willing to pick up where they left off when she spread her wings to discover a world beyond.

Getting Rough was a sizzling hot read that packed a wallop from the opening pages to the conclusion.  Shaw and Cassidy really got down to business upon their first meeting, and it moved quite quickly from there.  Perhaps that strong relationship foundation was established in the first book, Playing Dirty.  Once I got past the quickness of this quirky couple, I was all in for the ride that C. L. Parker promised.

Getting Rough had some fantastic secondary characters that really cinched the whole atmosphere of the small town setting that the tale embraced.  However, I did find that the potential third point in this triangle sprang in from left field upon occasion and really had a lot of nerve to do so in Getting Rough.  That was just a small sticking point with me, that still lingers a bit, but not enough to have been disappointed in this read.

A MILLION DIRTY SECRETS by C. L. Parker

A MILLION DIRTY SECRETS by C. L. Parker
A Million Dirty Secrets
by C. L. Parker

Series: ,
Published by Bantam Genres: Contemporary, Erotica, Fiction
Source: Publisher

Reviewed by Vanessa

For fans of Fifty Shades of Grey and Bared to You comes a wickedly erotic new novel of innocence, desire, and unbridled pleasure.   Delaine Talbot has a secret. When a matter of life and death threatens to tear apart her family, Delaine makes the ultimate sacrifice. She auctions herself off at Chicago’s most exclusive erotic club. Now she belongs to Noah Crawford, a wealthy mogul who introduces her to a seductive feast of the senses, awakening desires she only dreamed about.    Noah doesn’t know why Delaine sold her body for a cool two mil. But it’s the perfect business arrangement. The inexperienced beauty will learn to satisfy his every sensual need, yet never touch his heart. Almost immediately their relationship generates heat—in more ways than one. When they fight, they take no prisoners. When they love, they show no mercy. When they’re together, they never want to leave each other’s arms. But soon, their intense, physical bond will take an unexpected turn—evolving into something neither has bargained for: the promise of a lasting love.Praise for A Million Dirty Secrets

Delaine “Laine” Talbot needs money, and she needs it fast.  Her only avenue is to sell the one commodity she has….herself!  Delaine has decided she will become a sex slave.  She will give away her autonomy for a lot of money to help her parents, but they can’t ever know.  Signing away all rights to herself for two years in exchange for the worry-free life her very ill mother needs.

Noah Crawford has been badly burned before, and now he seeks to keep his heart out of any “romantic” interactions.  However, his body has needs, and his solution is to buy a means to satisfy those needs—a woman that he will use to his heart’s content without ever worrying about her satisfaction…..just his!  However, Noah and Laine both bite off more than they can chew in this tale and soon find themselves striving to protect something very important.

A Million Dirty Secrets had a fabulous premise which made me a little leary of picking up this story.  I was thinking that Noah was going to be one of those hardened BDSM guys that needed to get his freak on, and Laine would prove to be the one girl that enjoyed that.  Boy was I surprised to find that A Million Dirty Secrets wasn’t at all what I thought!  It’s more a bit of erotica geared towards a young adult and wasn’t at all scary and button pushing as I had feared.

A Million Dirty Secrets had two naïve characters in Noah and Laine.  He thought he was so freaky with what he wanted to experience with Laine, but he really had no idea.  He was more of a softy.  Laine could have received more than she had bargained for, but she never seemed to fear that.  She came across as never truly giving up her autonomy to Noah.  She was never truly used the way he had intended in A Million Dirty Secrets, and I was thankful for that!  I’m not a big fan of those stories, and I enjoyed not having to deal with that in A Million Dirty Secrets.

I do have to remark on the fact that as I read A Million Dirty Secrets, I was constantly reminded of another popular book that dealt with a number of shades of grey.  A Million Dirty Secrets will leave some things unanswered and the HEA resolution isn’t that, but Ms. Parker has promised a part two to this Million Dollar Duet!

Header Banner by Nit_Witty Copyright © 2014
Joyfully Reviewed
Site Design, Graphics & Maintenance
by Miranda Grissom